Mr. Farshtey's

Classroom



























Contact




Summer Session - Ethics

This course is an introduction to the philosophical study of morality - including the theory of right and wrong behavior, the theory of value [Goodness and Badness] and the theory of virtue and vice. 

WE ALL FACE ETHICAL CHOICES IN OUR LIVES.

We will address these issues by thinking about the common sense intuitions about how we ought to live our lives. This course is designed to help you develop the ability to read, explicate, analyze, and evaluate ethical case studies and scenarios - effectively express your own ethical positions - and think critically and analytically about ethical issues.

Please remember that you are in control of your success in this class.
 Take responsibility for your work and be accountable for your actions.

DATE
CLASS CALENDAR / INFORMATION
 Monday - June 19
TOPIC: INTRODUCTION

1. CLASS WEBSITE

2. EVALUATION
3. APPROACH

4. HOW DOES MR. FARSHTEY TEACH? / HOW DO I LEARN? [A Little Psychology]
-
CLASS PRESENTATION: LEARNING STYLES
- TAKE THE LEARNING STYLES TEST HERE  [Want to try some more tests?]

NO AFTERNOON CLASS

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT: ETHICS GUIDE
1. Read the FIRST TWO sections:
    - What is Ethics?
    - What Use is Ethics?
2. Bring in questions (vocabulary and ideas) for discussion in class

Tuesday - June 20  
MORNING CLASS
TOPIC: INTRODUCTION TO ETHICS

CLASS PRESENTATION: Lesson 1


CLASS ACTIVITY: Values Clarification Exercise #1 - RANK ORDER

AFTERNOON CLASS
TOPIC: INTRODUCTION TO ETHICS

CLASS PRESENTATION: 

1. Basic Moral Orientations
2. Moral Orientation Survey

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT: Complete NORMS/MORALS/ETHICS Worksheet - DUE AT START OF CLASS ON WEDNESDAY
Wednesday - June 21 
MORNING CLASS
TOPIC: PHILOSOPHY & ETHICS

CLASS PRESENTATION:
1.
Greek Philosophers
2. Excerpts from PBS Empires - THE GREEKS, Episode 3: Empires of Mind

NOTES: Socrates, Plato and Aristotle - The BIG THREE in Greek Philosophy
AFTERNOON CLASS
TOPIC: PHILOSOPHY & ETHICS

CLASS PRESENTATION:
1. Basic Ethics - A Variety of Perspectives
2. Who Would You Kill? - Test your moral intuitions

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT: READ What You Need to Know About the World's Water Wars 
Thursday - June 22  TOPIC: CASE STUDY #1 - THE WATER DILEMMA

CLASS ACTIVITY: PLAY Quandary - EPISODE 2, Water War 

CLASS PRESENTATION
1. Water Wars - Supply and Demand
2.
Water Wars
3. The American Southwest: ARE WE RUNNING DRY?

NOTES:
1. The Water Crisis
2. Access to Water

NO STUDY HALL TONIGHT - Trip to FLAGSTAFF RODEO 
Friday - June 23 TOPIC: Tactile Learner Day

CLASS ACTIVITY: Selections from Philosophy Games
1. Follow-up to the Trolley Problem - Should You Kill the Backpacker?
2. Morality Play
3. Would You Eat Your Cat?
4. Staying Alive
[Submit a brief reaction to each game/experiment]

CLASS PRESENTATION: Background Information - Ring of Gyges


ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT: DUE AT START OF CLASS ON MONDAY
- Ring of Gyges STORY
- Ring of Gyges ASSIGNMENT
  Monday - June 26 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - June 27 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - June 28  
NO CLASSES - Trip to MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS MUSEUM
Thursday - June 29   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
  Friday - June 30   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Monday - July 3  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - July -4  
INDEPENDENCE DAY - NO CLASSES
Wednesday - July 5   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:

Thursday
- July 6 
TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Friday - July 7   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Monday - July 10 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - July 11   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - July 12  
TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
  Thursday - July 13  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Friday - July 14  END OF FIRST SEMESTER
SEMESTER EXAMS


ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
  Monday - July 17  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - July 18   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - July 19  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
  Thursday - July 20  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Friday - July 21 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
 
Monday - July 24
TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - July 25  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - July 26  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Thursday - July 27 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
  Friday - July 28 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Monday - July 31 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - August 1  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - August 2 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Thursday - August 3   TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Friday - August 4 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:

Monday
- August 7
 TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Tuesday - August 8  TOPIC:

CLASS PRESENTATION:


NOTES:

ASSIGNMENT / ASSESSMENT:
Wednesday - August 9  TOPIC: 

Thursday - August 10
END OF SECOND SEMESTER
FINAL EXAMS
[YOU have SURVIVED the 8 WEEKS of TORTURE!!!!]